Fade in


A brief summation of my writing projects:

The Auteur, a feature comedy written in Hebrew, based on the 50 minute graduation project I wrote in screenwriting school, was submitted in July 2006 to the Israeli Film Fund and was rejected. Although the lectors said the script has a neat idea and funny scenes, they also thought that many of the characters are poorly developed or are basically cliches, and that the narrative doesn’t justify a feature length film.

I have yet to find the energy to rewrite this script again (it went through four rewrites already), and basically, I figured that in order to rewrite that script and make it eligible for a re-submission, I’ll need a writing partner. Because frankly, and It makes me quite sad to say that, I’m out of ideas for this one, at least for the time being.

As a side note, a good writing partner is something I’d very much like to find. I don’t particularly like writing alone. It gets very difficult sometimes. But that’s a topic for another post.

My two TV series (also in Hebrew), Trained Professionals and Stage Fright, have been sent to production companies long ago and will probably stay there until hell freezes over. I tried with all my might to market them and get people interested in them, but nothing came out of that. Yep, It’s pretty depressing.

As for English projects, there’s Palace (title is not final), a five minute short scheduled to film in New York City sometimes soon, I hope. Palace was originally submitted in Hebrew for a screenplay contest. It didn’t win, but it caught the eye of an Israeli Acting student living in NYC, and she expressed her interest in filming it. After deliberating the matter for 0.0003 seconds I agreed to let her do that.

Palace stemmed originally from a screenwriting exercise which concerned a character doing something creative. I wrote a short scene about a young boy building a sand castle on the beach, and received a very positive review on it. Later, I decided to turn it into a short. 

The second English script is Room 601, a 30 minute drama also based on a 15 page script submitted at the end of the first semester back in school. There is almost no resemblance between that script and the 35 pages version, except for the fact that the story concerns a business man and a call girl meeting in a hotel room. A secret wish of mine is to direct that one, as I visualized it in a very detailed manner, but hey, I’ll realize it any which way I can, even if it means letting someone else do it.

Here’s a scene  from Room 601:

INT. HOTEL ROOM

Jack puts the bottle in the Mini-Bar. We follow him back to the balcony.

EXT. BALCONY

He enters the balcony and freezes.

Linda is sitting on the ledge, looking down.

Her feet are dangling in the air.

JACK

What are you doing? Get down from there.

LINDA

(Obviously intoxicated)

It’s so beautiful. Look at all those little lights.

He approaches her, carefully.

JACK

Come on, Linda. Give me your hand. You’re drunk.

LINDA

Stop it. I’m fine.

She half turns to him, almost slipping down.

JACK

Linda, for chrissakes! Get down from there!

She looks at him with a sad, almost sorrowful expression. Then she laughs.

LINDA

It’s so nice up here. So peaceful.

(leans down)

Woooo! I’m flying!

JACK

What the hell are you doing?! Do you want to die?!

Beat.

She turns to him again. Her smile fades. All of a sudden she looks sober, and dead serious.

LINDA

(calmly)

Yes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

